How Do End Users Send Shares to Guest Accounts

How End Users Send Individual Shares and Manage Guest Accounts

In addition to collaborating and sharing content with internal users, end users can also share files and folders with outside third parties. These outside users are called guests. Guest accounts are intended for users who are not members of an organization. These guest users have limited access to the system, allowing for the sharing of files or folders, or for collaboration on specific content.

Guest accounts can:

  • Access a shared file or folder through the web portal
  • Manage their account information and change their password

Guest accounts cannot:

  • Utilize the desktop agent, WebDAV, or mobile apps
  • Subscribe to Team Shares

When an end-user sends a secure share to a person outside of their organization, he is automatically creating a guest account within the system, and giving that guest access to the file or folder that was shared. For more information, please reference the Anchor End User Guide.

For information on how administrators can manage guest users, please reference the Creating and Managing Guest Accounts in the Administrative Web Portal Knowledge Base article.

Sending Share Links as an End User

To send a secure share link (and automatically create a guest account):

  1. In AXIS Cloud Sync, right-click the folder or file you want to share, point to AXIS CloudSync Tool, and select Share link.
  2. Alternatively, in the web portal, right-click the file you want to share, and select Share.
  3. In the Share Access dialog box, configure share options, including:
    can_upload_can_delete_options.JPG

    • The Secure Share option, which sends a password-protected share links to items. By choosing Secure Share, the system will automatically create a guest account for the recipient.
    • The Public Share option, which sends standard share links to items.
    • The Share Options setting, which allow you to select whether the share link will expire after a certain date.
    • The Share With settings, which allow you to email your guest directly from within the Share Access dialog box.
    • If you are sharing an entire folder with an existing guest account, or if you are sending the folder as a secure share, you can also determine the privileges you want to give the recipient, including the ability to upload and delete files within the folder. Please note that you can only set privileges when you share folders; you cannot set privileges when you share files.
  4. Click the Save button when you are finished.

The recipient will receive an email notification. After logging in, he or she will be able to see the contents of the share. Guest users can also manage their own user settings—including their name, email address, and password— and can even delete their own account.

guest_7-1.jpg

Managing Guest Accounts as an End User

End users can also create and manage guest accounts through the web portal or through their agent. Just like administrators, they can manually create guest accounts, or they will automatically create a guest account when they send a secure share link to a recipient outside of their organization.

Note: You cannot share files or folders using WebDAV.

To manually create a guest account as an end user in the web portal:

  1. Click the My Files button in the black menu bar. The My Files page displays.
  2. In the My Files page, click the Guests tab. The Guest Accounts page displays, showing a list of guest accounts that you have created.
  3. To create a guest, click the Create Guest button.
    Create_Guest_button.png
    The Create Guest page displays, allowing you to configure settings for the new guest.
    GuestSettings.png
  4. In the Guest Settings page, you can configure the guest’s first name, last name, email address, and password.
  5. Use the Password Expires field if you would like to generate a time-sensitive password for the new guest user. You can select from 6 hours, 12 hours, or 24 hours. If you do not want to generate a time-sensitive password, leave this drop-down field set to Never.
  6. By default, the Send Welcome Email checkbox is selected, which will send a welcome email to the new guest, containing information about how to access the system. Uncheck this checkbox if you do not wish to send a welcome email. This option is useful for when you prefer to fully control messaging at a later time. For example, you might need to complete outstanding administrative tasks prior to inviting guests, like creating Team Shares, rebranding the tool, and so forth. You can then manually send log-in information at a later date.
  7. Click the Save button when you are finished.