How Do End Users Share Content

Team Shares and Individual Shares (3rd Party Shares) for End Users

End users can collaborate and share content using both Team Shares and individual shares. Specifically:

  • Team Shares are shared folders that can be accessed by groups of users. Team Shares can be configured for users in your organization; guest accounts cannot be added to Team Shares. You add files to Team Shares the same way you add files to standard folders. When a file changes within a Team Share, these changes will sync to everyone who is subscribed to the Team Share.
  • Individual shares allow you to share a direct link to a file or folder, rather than sharing an entire area. Individual shares can be configured for users in your organization and outside of your organization.  You can send a public share to recipients inside or outside of your organization; alternatively, you can send a secure share, which requires login credentials. If you send a secure share to a recipient outside of your organization, the system will create a guest account for that user.

For more information on how end users interact with Team Shares and individual shares, please reference the AXIS Cloud Sync End User Guide.

 Team Shares

Administrators can create Team Shares for a group of subscribers, or end users can create their own Team Shares. For more information on creating Team Shares for end users, please reference the What is a Team Share Knowledge Base article.

You can access Team Shares in the web portal, the agent, and mobile applications. Team Share folders can be recognized by icons with two people on it.

  • Team shares in the web portal:
    0300002B.png
  • Team shares in AXIS Cloud Sync Folder:
    0300002C.png

To create a new Team Share as an end-user:

  1. In the web portal, click the Shares tab. The Team Shares page displays.
  2. In the Team Shares page, click the Create Team Share button.
    0300002D.png
    The Create Team Share page displays.
  3. In the Create Team Share page, type a descriptive name for the Team Share in the Team Share Name field.
    0300002E.png
  4. Click the Create button when you are finished. You will be redirected to the Team Share Subscribers page.
  5. In the Team Share Subscribers page, select a name from the Select a User drop-down menu, and click the Add to Share button.
    0300002F.png
    The selected user will now be added to the Team Share.

Individual Shares (3rd Party Shares)

End users can send individual shares to users inside and outside of their organization. Individual shares can be created within the web portal, from the agent, or from a mobile device.

To share a file with a third-party from the web portal:

  1. Right-click the file or folder and select Share.
    03000030.png
    A Share Access dialog box displays.
    03000031.png
  2. In the Share Access dialog box, configure settings for sharing the link, including:
    • The Secure Share option, which sends password-protected share links to items.
    • The Public Share option, which sends standard share links to items.
    • The Share Options settings, which allow you to select whether the share link will expire after a certain date, and if each recipient should be limited to the number of times the item can be downloaded.
    • The Share With settings, which allow you to email your items directly from within the Share Access dialog box.
    • The Permissions settings, which allow you to view permissions for each recipient. If you are sharing an entire folder, you will be able to set permissions for each recipient, including whether he or she can upload or delete content.

To share an item with a third-party on a Windows or Mac machine:

  1. Right-click on the file or folder, point to the AXIS Cloud Sync Tool menu, and select Share link.The Share Access dialog box displays, allowing you to configure settings the same way as you would from the web portal.
    03000031.png
  2. In the Share Access dialog box, configure settings for sharing the link, including:
    • The Secure Share option, which sends password-protected share links to items.
    • The Public Share option, which sends standard share links to items.
    • The Share Options settings, which allow you to select whether the share link will expire after a certain date, and if each recipient should be limited to the number of times the item can be downloaded.
    • The Share With settings, which allow you to email your items directly from within the Share Access dialog box.
    • The Permissions settings, which allow you to view permissions for each recipient. If you are sharing an entire folder, you will be able to set permissions for each recipient, including whether he or she can upload or delete content.

Managing Shared Items

End users can manage their own shares in the Shares tab of the web portal.

To manage Team Shares as an end-user:

  1. In the web portal, click the Shares tab to manage your shares.
  2. Click the Team Shares button to access controls that allow you to create, view and edit Team Shares.
    03000034.png

    • Optionally, click the arrow to expand a Team Share.
      TeamShareDailyDigest1.png
    • Click the On button to receive a Daily Digest email for the selected Team Share. A Daily Digest email will outline detailed information about events that occurred within the Team Share, including a list of files that were added or modified, when the event occurred, and the user who performed the action. You will receive a daily email until you turn off the Daily Digest option.
    • You can also turn on or off the syncing of Team Share content down to your local machine. This functionality is useful if a Team Share contains large files (such as video files) and you would rather only access the content when necessary from the web. Click the Off button to turn off the syncing of content to your local machine. Alternatively, click the On button to ensure that all content gets synchronized to your local machine.
      enduserselectivesync.png
  3. Click the Items Shared By You button to track how many times an item you shared has been viewed, downloaded, and whether or not it is set to expire on a certain date. You can also click the arrow to expand an item, which allows you to view detailed information about the user that received your shared item.
    03000035.png
  4. Click the Items Shared With You button to view files that were shared with you by others in your organization, as well as information about who shared the file and what access rights you were given (including read, write, and delete).
    03000036.png