How Do I Create and Manage AXIS Cloud Sync Backups

 

Creating and Managing Backups

End users can create backups of folders that exist on their local machines. Alternatively, you can create backups for your end users.

When you or end users create a backup of a folder, all new changes are continuously backed up. The backup can be accessed from the web portal, but it does not reside in your AXIS Cloud Sync Folder, and it cannot be shared.

How to Create a New Backup

You can create backups of folders within registered machines.

To create a backup:

  1. In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization in which you want to create backups. The selected organization displays.
  2. Click the Backups tab. The Backups page displays, showing a list of all existing backups in the selected organization.
  3. In the Backups page, click the New Backup button.
    030000A82.png
    The Backup Folders page displays, listing all registered machines within the selected organization.
    030000A9.png
  4. Click to expand a machine name, and select the specific folder that you want to back up.
  5. After the selected item has been selected, click the Save button. The selected item is now backed up.

How to Manage Backups

You can manage all backups—whether they were created by you or end users—by clicking the Backups tab. In the Backups page, you can manage the content of backups, browse the content of backups, and delete backups.

To manage backups:

  1. In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization in which you want to manage backups. The selected organization displays.
  2. Click the Backups tab. The Backups page displays, showing a list of all existing backups in the selected organization.
  3. In the Backups page, find the backup that you want to manage. Optionally, use the Search box to search for a backup using the owner’s name. Please note that the search functionality is available in the administrative web portal only; end users cannot search for backups in their view of the Backups tab.
    • Click the checkbox next to a backup. The toolbar will expand to display additional actions.
      030000AB.png
    • Click the Erase Delete Files button to permanently remove deleted files in the selected backup.
    • Click the Deactivate Selected Backups button to remove the backup.
    • Click the Restore Deleted button to restore the contents of the backup to a specified location.
    • Click the Trim button to erase previous revisions to files in the backup.
  4. While still in the Backups page, you can browse the contents of the backup.
  5. Click the Browse button.
    030000AC2.png
    The backup opens, allowing you to browse its content.
  6. Inside the backup, you can:
    • Click the Create Folder button to create a new folder inside the backup.
    • Click the Upload Files button to add files to the backup.
    • Click the Rollback button to restore to a previous version of the backup.
    • Click the Show Deleted button to show files that have been deleted within the backup
    • Click the Restore Deleted button to return any deleted files to the backup.
    • Click the Trim button to erase previous revisions to files in the backup.
      030000AD.png
  7. In the Backups page, you can restore a backup to a specific location. You can also restore a backup to a different machine, as long as an agent is installed on that machine.
    • Click the Restore button.
      030000AE2.png
      A Restore Backup page displays.
    • In the Restore Backup page, browse the selected machine to select a restore point. Optionally, click the New Folder button to create a new folder as a restore point.
    • Click the Save button when you are finished.
      030000AF.png
  8. Optionally, in the Backups page, click the Delete button to delete a backup.
    030000B02.png
    The backup will delete from the selected machine.