How Do I Use the iOS App

If you use an iOS device, such as an iPhone or an iPad, you can download the iOS app in iTunes. This app allows you to:

  • Open and view files and folders;
  • Lock files and folders;
  • Share files and folders;
  • Send secure shares of files and folders;
  • Upload content from your device, such as photos;
  • Automatically back up your camera roll to a synced folder, called Camera Uploads;
  • Rename, delete, and move items; and
  • Favorite items for offline viewing.

IMPORTANT: The newest version of the iOS app was recently updated to fully utilize APIv2.  As a result, app settings might need to be reconfigured, and users might be prompted to re-authenticate when upgrading from the previous version(s) of the iOS app.

IMPORTANT: The Android Mobile App allows its users to quickly and seamlessly edit files using an MS Office app or other third-party editing tool.

The iOS Mobile App provides the same functionality; however, due to recent updates to iOS 9+, users are reporting an inconsistent experience when attempting to edit files in iOS 9+, when compared to previous versions of iOS. Specifically, when editing a file, the file is copied to the third-party app and then duplicated in the app; any changes are pushed back to the Anchor cloud server. While this process allows users to edit files with the iOS Mobile App, we are continuing to investigate a more streamlined solution.

To log into the iOS app:

  1. In your iOS device, press the app icon to launch the app. The Login window displays, prompting you to enter your login credentials, including:
    • In the Host field, enter the host of the system (for example,syncedtool.com ).
    • In the User field, enter your username (for example, user@mail.com).
    • In the Password field, enter your password.
    • Press the Login button when you are finished.
      ios1.png

      • If Two-Step Authentication has been enabled as an organization policy or as an account policy, you will be prompted to enter an authentication code at the time of initial registration. Enter the authentication code and press the OK button.
        ios2.png
      • If Two-Step Authentication has been enabled as an organization policy, you will also be asked to configure a passcode after the initial registration process. At subsequent sessions, you will be prompted to enter this passcode when you access your mobile app.

        Note
        : If Two-Step Authentication has been turned on only as an individual account policy, that account will not be required to configure a passcode.

        • You will be directed to the Settings page. Select Use Passcode.
          ios3.png
          You will be prompted to enter a Passcode.
          ios4.png
        • When accessing the mobile app in the future, you will be prompted to first enter this passcode.
  2. When you have access to your account, you can use the app to open and view files, manage files, and upload content. For example:
    • Press the Files button to view and manage your files and folders; you can rename or move an item, or mark it as a favorite.
    • Press the Backups button to view a list of your backups.
    • Press the Favorites button to view a list of items that you have marked as favorites. Favorites are saved for offline viewing.
    • Press the Upload button to upload content—such as images—from your phone to the server.
    • Press the Settings button to view your account information, such as the app version, your user name, space usage, passcode lock settings, and local storage settings. You can also turn on the option to only upload content over a wifi connection.
  3. Optionally, you can lock a file or folder within a Team Share. To lock a file or folder:
    • Press the Files button. The Files screen displays.
    • In the Files screen, press the Edit link at the top right-hand corner of the screen.
      ios5.jpg
    • Select the appropriate file or folder, and then press the Lock button at the bottom of the screen. The item is now locked, preventing other users from accessing your content.
      ios6.jpg
  4. You can also view and edit files using a third-party application. To view and edit files:
    • Press the Files button. The Files screen displays.
    • In the Files screen, select the file you want to edit.
    • While inside the file, press the Share button at the bottom of the screen.
      ios7.png
    • In the Share menu, press the Open In link, and then select a third-party file editing application. You can edit the file in the third-party application.
      ios8.png
  5. You can also share files and folders directly within your app. To share a file or folder, or to send a secure share:
    • Press the Files button. The Files screen displays.
    • In the Files screen, find the file or folder that you want to share and slide it to the right. Press the Share button.
      ios9.jpg
    • To send a share link, press the E-mail link option. Alternatively, to send a secure share, press the E-mail secure link option. Please note that  If your administrator has configured settings to only allow secure shares, you will only have the option to send a secure share.
      ios10.jpg
      You will be prompted to enter a recipient email address and compose an email message.
  6. You can also automatically back up your mobile phone’s camera roll to a synced folder using the Auto Backup feature. When this feature is turned on, your mobile app will automatically back up photos, videos, or both, to a synced folder called Camera Uploads. With this feature, you always have a backup of your mobile photos and videos.
    • Press the Settings button. The Settings page displays.
    • In the Settings page, press the Enable Auto Backup option.
    • Press the Back Up Photos option to configure settings for backing up photos in your camera roll:
      • Select Never if you don’t want to back up your photos.
      • Select Over Wi-Fi Only to back up photos only when you are connected to Wi-Fi.
      • Select Over Wi-Fi or Mobile Network to back up your photos whether you are connected to Wi-Fi or on your mobile network. Please note that uploading over your mobile network will use your data connection, and charges from your service provider may apply.
    • Press the Back Up Videos option to configure settings for backing up videos in your camera roll:
      • Select Never if you don’t want to back up your videos.
      • Select Over Wi-Fi Only to back up videos only when you are connected to Wi-Fi.
      • Select Over Wi-Fi or Mobile Network to back up your videos whether you are connected to Wi-Fi or on your mobile network. Please note that uploading over your mobile network will use your data connection, and charges from your service provider may apply.
    • Press Back Up Now if you want to back up your photos and videos immediately, if allowed by your connection settings configured above.